The Single Line Story Challenge Tag!

Well, I’m incredibly late to this one. (This lateness is a theme of mine recently, isn’t it? That needs to change.) But I was tagged by three of my lovely friends – E.G. Bella, Joelle Stone, and Grace Johnson. Thank you so much, ladies! This tag looks intriguing … and a little daunting, to be honest! My writing sadly lacks conciseness, so a one-line story might be rough for me. But I’ll do my very best, and we’ll see how it goes!


Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you. (Bella, Joelle, and Grace. Thank you again! Go check out these ladies’ blogs.)
  2. Write 5 single line stories that fall under any of these genres (you can pick which ones you do!):
    • fantasy
    • romance: Ugh do I have to? I claim to write romance, right? I’m just going to bite the bullet …
    • thriller: Yes!
    • mystery
    • western: Yes to this one, too! I’ve watched enough old Westerns to be able to do this one.
    • contemporary: Yep, I should be a pro at this. But I’m still not … 🙂
    • historical: Ooh, back to the ol’ homeplace!
    • drama
    • dystopian
    • adventure
    • sci-fi
    • paranormal
    • young adult
  3. You can choose 5 genres that’s easiest for you, or you can challenge yourself to try something new!
  4. Nominate 5 blogger/writers who you’d love to see participate and leave an open nomination for all writers!
  5. You can do this challenge more than once.

Alrighty, then, let’s see what I can do …


Romance

Years, distance, hatred, and lies had separated them—but with one glance, every memory crowded close, whispering of a love unbroken.

That’s as romantic as it’s going to get. 😊

Thriller

My hands shook, slicking the gun with sweat as I pressed to the cold brick wall …. yet the footsteps crunched close, declaring one truth: he’d found me.

(Add more punctuation so it hardly makes sense but it’s still one line. What’s that saying about knowing the rules so you can break them? Not good in life, but in punctuation … it works. 🙂 )

Western

The canyon lay still, the sun blazing above, the only sound the chink of hoofbeats against rock – until a pebble tumbled loose from the cliff.

*cue the suspenseful music* Does anyone know what’s going to happen next? 🙂

Contemporary

I gripped my smartphone—though it would’ve been preferable to chuck it at the muleheaded guy—and muttered, “Stop thinking everything’s about you, bud, and imagining poison in your cocktail of protein powders.”

Again, trashy punctuation. Don’t take cues from me, kids.

Historical

The cool wind brushed his face, tasting of tangy salt, of loamy earth, of home—yet home stood fathomless miles away, ripped away by a single bullet.

I feel like I need music for some of these … *dramatic sad music*


Whew, that was hard – but so much fun! I hope you at least got a laugh out of these ridiculously constructed sentences. Some of these were inspired by a few of my past projects, which were nice to revisit for a single line!

Thanks again to Grace, Bella, and Joelle for tagging me! If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged! Specifically, though, I’m tagging Bethany @ A Ruby in the Rough, Sherrice @ Penlightenment, Hannah @ More than Just Reading, Kads @ Your Writerly Friend Kads, and Sisters Three!

32 thoughts on “The Single Line Story Challenge Tag!

  1. Ahh, I LOVED those!!! You did so good!!! 😀 Wow, that thriller and historical especially made me want to read a whole book about it, lol… (And oh yeah, I totally hear music to some of those 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you saw it, too! 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing your answers. (And I’ve never gotten notified when I was tagged, either, so I don’t think that’s a problem on your end. I wish WordPress could create a way that would work, though …)

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh I loved it!
    The romance was so poetic!
    The thriller was thrilling!
    The western was atmospheric!
    The contemporary funny!
    The historical epic!
    Keep up the good work Vanessa!
    (BTW I understand the struggle for punctuation)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! That Romance one was great, and so was the Thriller! All of them were great! (Romance and Thriller were my favorite though XD) They don’t sound like they were hard to write, they sound so well-written!!! Like they just flowed out of your finger-tips! Great job, Vanessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, glad we looked at this…lol….we’re tagged! Okay, now you and Joelle have both tagged us so we need to do this….lol….the only thing is we are so not good at writing short things…hahaha….we’ll work on it later, maybe we’ll get it done soon…hahaha….thanks for the tag, Vanessa!!!
    Oh, and you’re stories are sooo good! Yes! Music could be heard, it automatically started playing in our minds…lol…man, now we want more! So our minds are building stories around the sentences….that thriller sentence though, shivers, need to know what happened!!! This was great!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, well, I waited until I was tagged by three people, so don’t feel too bad. 🙂 And you’re so welcome! I find it incredibly difficult to write short things, too. Aww, I’m glad you got some soundtracks going. Dramatic statements just need dramatic music, right? And for the thriller? No idea what that entire situation was. It is interesting … feel free to take it and give it an ending, ’cause I don’t have one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol…we’ll try not too…we’re working on it now!
        Yes, so difficult! Yeah, us too made it so awesome….lol…Agreed!
        Hahaha, we get ya….yeah, we’ll create a story for that in our heads to satisfy our need to know more…lol….just so you know, it’s gonna contain a lot action scenes and a lot of people getting hurt…but it turns out great in the end…

        Like

      • Wow, y’all are so hardworking! It took me like months to get to this one … 🙂
        Oh no. My poor character – no, this person’s definitely yours now. 🙂 And hey, when action happens, sometimes people get hurt. Authors can’t help it if their characters make bad decisions. *cough* We’re completely innocent in this, right? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol…well, Joelle tagged us like a month ago! So….we’re not super motivated…your tag just served to remind us we needed to do it…hahaha…
        LOl….thank you! Right, that is so true and accurate….one hundred percent agreeing with you there *looks around nervously* authors are completely innocence for anything that happens to the characters.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol….we totally understand that! It was a hard tag…we just finished up with it today…whew, it was really hard!
        Right….that is entirely their own choices….*bites lip* not like we have anything to do with it at all….totally not our fault if the characters have bad judgement…lol…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I said, “Ew” after reading the romance line…😂😂😂 Guess that’s not much of my cup of tea either!!
    Try reading your western line in a suspenseful voice…definitely got a laugh from that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha!!! I love it! I used to be so sappy and sentimental, and the older I’ve gotten, the less I can do romance. Some people can nail it, but it just gets really icky to me now. 🙂

      It’s like a cheesy Western, because everyone knows what’s going to happen, right? 🙂 It’s comedy at this point! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment